Le Negresco, an iconic 5-star hotel in the heart of the Promenade des Anglais, has become over the years a true emblem of Nice.

Inaugurated in 1912

This mythical establishment on the Côte d’Azur was built at the instigation of Henri Negresco, butler of wealthy clients, who decided to open his own luxury hotel. Its inauguration in 1912 brought together no less than seven crowned heads who came to discover this extraordinary palace on the Promenade des Anglais in Nice. Behind its sublime Belle Epoque façade, it houses many art collections in its ground floor lounges and the upstairs corridors that lead to the 102 rooms and 26 suites, each with its own decoration. It hides in its heart a spectacular glass roof which hosts many events under a radiant Baccarat chandelier of 4.60 meters made up of 16,800 crystals.

Le Negresco has received numerous awards

On February 28, 1948, Suzy Delair sang C’est si bon in this hotel on the occasion of the first Nice Jazz Festival. Louis Armstrong is present and loves the song. On June 26, 1950, he recorded the American version of the song (English lyrics by Jerry Seelen) in New York with Sy Oliver’s orchestra. Upon its release, the disc was a worldwide success and the song was then taken up by the greatest international singers. Having become over the years the emblem of Nice and the Côte d’Azur, Le Negresco has received numerous awards. In 2001, it obtained the Heritage of the 20th Century label. In 2003, the facades of the building, the roofs as well as the Royal lounge and its glass roof are listed as Historic Monuments. Finally, the establishment was classified as a Living Heritage Company in 2015.


Laisser un commentaire