Norman Foster, a world figure in contemporary architecture, will be honored at the Center Pompidou in Paris from May

A major figure in world architecture

From May 10, 2023 to August 7, 2023, find at the Pompidou Museum the exhibition dedicated to Norman Foster, a major figure in world architecture. A major figure in world architecture, often considered a leader of the so-called “high tech” current, the Briton Norman Foster has signed many iconic achievements in the world. On nearly two thousand two hundred square meters, the exhibition offers to see a large cabinet of drawings, work notebooks, as well as multiple models and prototypes, allowing to apprehend a hundred projects, in architecture as in design.

Norman Foster

A sustainable ecological approach

A selection of modern and contemporary works of art recalls to what extent they were for Norman Foster the markers of determining aesthetic periods. Architect of networks, exchange systems, transport, communication devices, Foster has always sought to place the concept of environmental control at the heart of his creations, to go beyond the idea of ​​a nature perceived as totally external, beyond an ecology of protection and preservation. He has thus developed a global systemic understanding of nature and technology, reconciling technological progress with a sustainable ecological approach.

More than 300 awards and prizes of excellence

Norman Foster enjoys worldwide renown and has personally won more than 300 awards and prizes of excellence. He was notably decorated with the gold medal of the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) in 1983, the gold medal of the French Academy of Architecture in 1991, and the gold medal of the Institute of American Architects in 1994. In 1990, he was knighted, then decorated with the Order of Merit in 1997, and finally created a peer of the United Kingdom, with the title of Baron Foster of Thames Bank, of Reddish in the County of Greater Manchester in 1999. Among his most recent and emblematic achievements, in addition to the Millau Viaduct, we can cite The Great Court at the British Museum in London (2000), the Millennium Bridge in London (2001), the Carré d’Art in Nîmes (1993 ) or the Regional Museum of Ancient Rome in Narbonne (in progress). Norman Foster is to date the only architect in the world to have won two “Emporis Skycraper Awards”, rewarding the most remarkable skyscraper of the year, for the 30 St Mary Ax in London (2004) and the Hearst Tower in New York (2006).

May 10 – August 7, 2023
11 a.m. – 9 p.m., every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
11 a.m. – 11 p.m., every Thursday

Laisser un commentaire